Influence Conference {meet & greet}

Influence Conference Meet and Greet
I can’t believe I’m doing this!  A few months ago my sister-in-law (who happens to be the fabulouso blogger from Beginner Beans) found out about the Influence Conference and asked me if I’d like to go too.  It sounded like a lot of fun at the time, but October seemed so far off that I told her yes, and then didn’t think much about it for a while.  Now here I am in September and I’ve bought my ticket to attend this amazing sounding conference with amazing sounding speakers in an amazing sounding place…and I’m a little nervous (and a little amazed…apparently).

The Influence Conference is set up to be a conference for bloggers and people in general who want to find out how to influence this world for Christ in a big way and in a way that utilizes all of the wonderful technological advances that we have in this day and age.  We also get to meet hundreds of other women who are striving for the same thing.  WOW!

So today, I’m linking up with the Influence Conference Blog in a little Pre-Conference “Meet & Greet”.  Even if you aren’t attending the conference you may just learn a little something about me that you didn’t know before.
So here goes:

3 Get-to know-me things
1.  I love people!  That being said, I’m feeling a little shy about meeting everyone at this conference.  I used to pride myself in being outgoing, but I’m beginning to wonder if I’m becoming more introverted with age!  Hopefully this conference will help me step out of my comfort zone and meet a whole bunch of new friends.
2.  I’ve taught 1st and 2nd grades for almost a decade, and am taking this school year off to stay home with my 17 m/o daughter.  This is a huge leap of faith for me and has definitely had it’s ups and downs already in just getting into the schedule of being a Stay-At-Home Mom.  I’m hoping to really settle in and find ministry opportunities while being home.
3.  My family and I are moving into an Airstream trailer this next year!  My husband runs an online meal planning service (Veggie Meal-Maker.com) so the location in which he does his job is extremely flexible.  We’re both interested in living a more minimalist lifestyle and to concentrate our time, money, and talents on things for God.  I know we’re in for an adventure!  You can follow along on our family blog Livin’ Lightly.  So I will be downsizing my wardrobe, household items, SHOES!!! and much more these next couple of weeks.  Yikes!
I also LOVE music, playing guitar and being part of a Praise Team  at our church. (oops… I guess that’s 4!)

2 Things I’m looking forward to about the Conference
1.  I’m really looking forward to all of the people that I’ll have the opportunity to connect with and brainstorm ideas with.
2.  I can’t wait to listen to all of the presenters.  The list of speakers and break-outs looks just amazing (I know I’m going to have a hard time choosing what break-outs to go to!).

1 Thing I can’t leave home without
I really can’t leave home without my Burt’s Bees Chapstick!  Even if I’m just heading out on a run I have to have it!  I’m also connected at the hip with my water bottle (but there I go again, adding more to the list).

I’m really looking forward to meeting everyone and gaining more insight/focus into what direction this blog and other areas of my life are to go.
Excited!
-Michaela Peterson 🙂
21 thoughts on “Influence Conference {meet & greet}

  1. Brooke

    Hi Michaela! Found your blog via the influence conference link-up. I agree I’m feeling a little hesitant about meeting a lot of new people, but I’m so excited and think it will be an awesome experience. Looking forward to meeting you! 🙂

    Reply
    1. Shae Post author

      Hi Brooke! I’m looking forward to meeting you too! I think this little “meet and greet” will make me feel a lot more confident in connecting with others when we get there. I’m hoping it won’t feel to stalkerish to say “Hi! I LOVE your blog and feel like I know you from reading it”. 🙂 Thanks for helping my jitters a little.

      Reply
    1. Shae Post author

      Nice to connect with you too!! (Thanks for calling me Shae, it makes me feel like we’re longtime friends.) I know, I’m pretty nervous in a lot of ways about moving into an Airstream, but I’m confident that God has great things in store for us. Thanks for stopping by!!

      Reply
  2. sarahjames01

    I’m going to Influence too!!! Maybe we’ll meet. 🙂 I’d be “amazed” to meet you in person. lol. This conference is blowing my mind a lotta bit, but I am SO excited to see what God will do with all of us through it!!! Can’t wait to meet you. Oh, and I live in the Indy area…it is an amazing and fun part of town. You’ll enjoy it! (My in real life name is Sarah James my social media name is Mamma James)

    Reply
    1. Shae Post author

      I’d be “amazed” to meet you too! 🙂 That is so cool that you live right there. We were visiting some family in Ohio this summer and did a drive by, but I’m excited to experience a little more of the city (I haven’t been there since I was really little). Can’t wait to see what God has in store for all of us!

      Reply
  3. Erin

    You seem so sweet, girl! I can’t wait to meet you in person and get to know you better at Influence! 🙂 I, too, ADORE Burt’s Bees chapstick! And how fun that you’re on your church’s praise team. Looking forward to reading your blog!

    Reply
    1. Shae Post author

      What an incredibly sweet thing to say! It is so neat seeing how God is bringing all of us gals together. It will be amazing to see how He works at this conference. I can’t wait to meet you too!! 🙂

      Reply
    1. Shae Post author

      Angie I wish you could come too!! Don’t worry though, I’m sure I’ll be talking your ear off for weeks about it after. 🙂

      Reply
  4. anniewiltse

    your first get-to-know-me describes me too! i love people but i am usually pretty quiet when first meeting them. that said, i’m a little bit of an extrovert when it comes to blogging and i think it’s going to carry over to this conference, haha.

    i’m going to have such a hard time deciding on what sessions to go to, too! even just thinking about deciding is giving me a headache. ha!

    i’m looking forward to meeting you!

    Reply
    1. Shae Post author

      Annie I love your picture! I’m so glad I’m not the only introvert/extrovert out there. 🙂

      Your comment is making me want to go over to the list of presenters right now and start circling and numbering them in order, just so I don’t miss out on the ones I really want. (Although I really want to go to all of them…I wonder if they’ll be videos available?? That would be great for the ones we miss eh?)

      Looking forward to meeting you too!

      Reply
  5. trinacress

    Um, can we be best friends? From minimalism to Burt’s Bees chapstick, I think we’d have a lot to chat about! 😉 So excited that we’re going on this adventure together! Looking forward to it!

    Reply
    1. Shae Post author

      Um, YES! In fact I think we should room together 🙂 and I think I should marry your brother and you should marry mine…hey wait a second! Thanks for talking me into this. I think this experience is going to be life changing for both of us. Can’t wait!

      Reply
    1. Shae Post author

      Ha Courtney! I should take pictures of my shoes and post them huh? Maybe I could send them off to good homes!! (I wear 6 1/2). 🙂 This sounds like it would make a good giveaway/contest! Hmmm….

      Reply
  6. Lyndsay

    I would LOVE to hear more about Veggie Meal Maker! Sounds awesome! Hmmm…you are very brave to move into an Airstream. I could downsize on so many things without a thought…but my kitchen? Oh, that would be a tough one! 🙂 I can’t wait to hear all about your adventures and meet you soon! And we can compare notes on our little toddler girls! 🙂 See you soon!

    Reply
    1. Shae Post author

      Lyndsay the kitchen is going to be a hard adjustment, but my husband’s decided to extend the counter so we have a little more space there. 🙂 But I think it’s going to be tough all around. It’s definitely going to be an adventure!
      Looking forward to seeing you at the Conference! 🙂

      Reply
  7. Chelsea

    Living in an airstream trailer?? That’s amazing! I’m sure it will be quite an adjustment but it’s amazing how much our stuff can hold us down. I can’t wait to hear about this adventure that your family is taking on!

    Excited to meet you at Influence!

    Reply
  8. darcywiley

    So good to “meet” you ahead of time! I heart educators. I worked with middle school ENL students for a number of years before going full time with editing/design for my church (and doubling my salary. ha!) and then becoming a stay at home mom. I love your Airstream dream…and that it’s going to be reality!!! My brother and his wife have mentioned the exact same thing, so maybe you’ll meet out there in the great wide open sometime. 😉 And, so fun to hear you’re a musician. You’re gifted in so many areas. I told your sis-in-law that she’s on my “must meet” list…and now I’m putting you there, too!

    Reply
    1. Shae Post author

      YOU are on my “must meet” list too!! 🙂 I just got back from checking out your blog and I am WOWED by your writing talent. Hopefully you can rub off on me a little in that area at the conference. 🙂 It would be so neat to run into your brother and his wife on the open road (hey, you never know!). I saw that you play piano and have a love for music too!! I can’t wait to see what God will bring out of this whole conference experience. I have a deep feeling that it’s going to be life changing for sure. Looking forward to seeing you!

      Reply

Share with us your thoughts!

